In the News

Advisory Committee

H.E. André Azoulay

Counselor to King Mohammed VI of Morocco

The Honorable Howard L. Berman

Former Chairman, House Foreign Affairs Committee, US Congress

Rafael Benoliel de Carvalho


Peter A. Benoliel

Chairman Emeritus, Quaker Chemical Corporation

H.E. Maria de Fatima Lima da Veiga

Former Ambassador of the Republic of Cape Verde to the United States

H.E. Aziz Mekouar

Former Ambassador of the Kingdom of Morocco to the United States

H.E. Joao de Vallera

Former Ambassador of Portugal to the United States

H.E.Vernon Penner

Former United States Ambassador to Cape Verde

Edward Bergman

Innovative Development Services

Toby Dershowitz

President, The Dershowitz Group

Professor Aomar Boum

Department of Anthropology, University of California (UCLA) 

Isabel Ferreira Gould, PhD

Portuguese and Brazilian Studies, Independent Scholar

Sofia de Oliveira Lima

CVJHP Representative, Cape Verde

Daniel Mariaschin

Executive Vice President, B’nai B’rith International

Januario Nascimento

Descendant, Auday family; former president, ADAD 

Professor Daniel J. Schroeter

Department of History, University of Minnesota

Professor José Alberto Tavim

Senior Researcher, Instituto de Investigação Científica Tropical, Lisbon

José Tomás Veiga

Former Minister of Finance and Foreign Affairs, Cape Verde

Gwen Zuares

American Sephardi Association

Nuno Wahnon Martins

Head of the Brussels Office of Nostrum Partners

**We regret to inform you that CVJHP advisory committee members, Professor Russell Hamilton, former Dean of Vanderbilt University Graduate School and expert in the history and literature of Lusophone Africa; Professor David Gitlitz, former Professor in the Department of Languages at the University of Rhode Island; and Professor Sulayman Nyang, former chair of the Department of African Studies at Howard University, have passed away. We have valued their friendship, counsel and commitment toward the Project. They are greatly missed.